A Witness of the Circle of Life

Today I went on a short bike ride to help clear my head and on my way home I saw a small turtle in the middle of the road. I jumped off my bike and went to go and grab it. At first I thought that it was dead because I saw red on its side, but when I picked it up, I saw that it was indeed alive. The red I saw was just its stripes. The turtle had his head and legs tucked underneath his shell. His beady eyes were staring at me. I walked over to a nearby patch of tall grass and placed him down. I wished him (at least I think it was a him) luck and told him not to be crossing any more roads too soon. (I know, I am weird.) Then I crossed the road again, picked my bike up, and started pedaling home.

I had just about reached my driveway when I saw a dead mouse in the road. I stopped my bike and crouched down to look at the poor thing. It had been runned over by something. It was completely crushed. I couldn’t do anything about it. I wanted to bury it (I usually do that when I see a dead animal) but I couldn’t even begin to peel it off the pavement. I felt so bad. I stood up and bowed my head and wished its spirit safe passage to the spirit world.

As I got back on my bike I thought about how within 2 minutes I saved a life and bid farewell to another. I had witnessed the complete circle of life.

Please, if you can without endangering your life (or vehicle), be cautious while driving and help save a life. Animals are living creatures too. Don’t just let them be meaningless roadkill. I know that I will try my very hardest to surve for an animal. I hope that you would too! Anyway, have a great day everyone! 🙂

By the way here is a picture I found on the web that looks like the turtle I saved.

Isn’t he cute! 🙂

About simplyrawgirl

I am a certified Level 3 Raw Chef from Creative Health Institute who love food and life. I run and swim whenever I can and love to share my experiances with the world. My mom is the founder of Living Food Banquet and is a Master Chef!
This entry was posted in About Me and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I want to hear from you, so please don't be shy! Please leave a comment.

