The Story Behind Kosher Meat

Mom was telling me about this one guy who used to be a kosher butcher. He is also Jewish. It is very interesting to hear about his religion and beliefs. Today I found out that a kosher butcher kills the animals in a special way so that they don’t feel any pain.

First, the butcher gets to chose the animals he wants to butcher, hangs the animal upside down, and then cuts their throat with an extremely sharp knife. (They sharpen their knife before they kill each animal) Then a certified kosher inspector makes sure that the cut was smooth and not jagged (if the cut was jagged, then the animal would had to sent to conventional butchers).

I know this sounds gruesome, but this just shows you how much time and care they put into their meat. So that is what kosher meat is.

My mom and I are going to CHI at the end of this month to help out. I can’t wait. I want to meet everyone there and learn everything I can! I really want to meet my mom’s friend who was a kosher butcher! It’s going to be so much fun!

About simplyrawgirl

I am a certified Level 3 Raw Chef from Creative Health Institute who love food and life. I run and swim whenever I can and love to share my experiances with the world. My mom is the founder of Living Food Banquet and is a Master Chef!
This entry was posted in Health News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

I want to hear from you, so please don't be shy! Please leave a comment.

