Raw Cocao (Chocolate)- My Love Affair with a Superfood

As a longtime chocoholic, I was worried that when I became raw I would have to end my love affair with chocolate and all of its goodness. To my surprise and great relief, I found that I can still enjoy chocolate while being raw and know that I am eating it at its peak nutritional level and flavor. Never again shall I miss those processed chocolate bars or candies!

Cocao pods (nut) is mainly grown in Central and South American jungles. Inside of these pods are the cocao beans that we eventually grind into the cocao powder. Cocao can be found in whole beans, chunks (nibs), powder, a paste, and butter (cocao butter is raw). To purchase raw cocao please click here.

Cocao isn’t a superfood just because it tastes so good. 🙂 Cocao (when raw) has so many health benefits! Studies show that cocao is Nature’s Number 1 weight-loss and energy boosting superfood in the world!  Cocao has been known to increase blood flow to the brain; enhancing the brain’s ability to function; fight off fatigue. Cocao also has the highest content of antioxidants than any other food in the world. Antioxidants help protect our bodies from illnesses and have anti-aging properties. Cocao has high concentrations of magnesium (good for the heart, brain, and bones), iron, chromium (balances blood sugar), manganese, zinc, copper, Vitamin C, Omega- 6 Fatty Acid, phenlethylamine (an appetite suppressant), anandamide (an endorphin that improves mood), tryptophan (an essential amino acid), serotonin, and fiber (we all know what that is good for!).

Most of these nutrients are lost and destroyed when cocao is processed and refined. So even the dark chocolate you buy at the store does not hold most of the nutrients that raw cocao has. Milk chocolate has been so stripped of its properties that all it is sugar and caffeine.

I have many recipes that uses cocao, so please peruse the recipes I have posted. Enjoy!

About simplyrawgirl

I am a certified Level 3 Raw Chef from Creative Health Institute who love food and life. I run and swim whenever I can and love to share my experiances with the world. My mom is the founder of Living Food Banquet and is a Master Chef!
This entry was posted in About Me, Health News, Media, Raw Food Superfoods and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Raw Cocao (Chocolate)- My Love Affair with a Superfood

  1. Pingback: Raw Foods That Boost Energy and Endurance for Sports and Workouts | lifeloveandrawfood

I want to hear from you, so please don't be shy! Please leave a comment.

