Raw Foods That Boost Energy and Endurance for Sports and Workouts

Although being an athlete all my life, I have never made any significant connections between nutrition and my sports performance. I just thought that I needed to consume three meals a day (regardless of what they consist of) and to drink lots of water. Now that I have gone on my raw food journey, I am focusing more and more on how food affects my health and overall energy level.

I run cross-country and track. I have been experimenting with different foods that help boost my endurance and stamina when I am running. As a long distance runner, I have to consume a high carb and low protein diet. (That means lots of fruits and veggies; less nuts and seeds.) Of course this diet does not apply to muscle builders and weight lifters, who have to consume high protein and low carb diets. (But you can still eat raw while following this diet, just consume lots of nuts; less fruits and veggies.)

Here is a list of foods and superfoods that help boost energy for your workout-

Maca–  a Peruvian root that provides the body energy and increases stamina and endurance

Coconut milk (water)- a sweet drink that provides the body with lots of potassium and healthy electrolytes (great substitute for energy drinks)

Acia berry- a small berry that packs a powerful punch! Full of antioxidants and vitamins, acia boosts energy and immune system

Gogi Berries– a great source of protein and B12

Hemp Seeds- provides protein and slow releasing energy

Cocao– fights of fatigue and boost energy

Water- You all know why we need it! 🙂

Nuts- full of protein and essential fatty acids for a slow release of energy

Fruits- provide vitamins and carbs that give you energy quickly. Full of antioxidants too!

Vegetables and sprouts- provides chlorophyll for the body and blood. Also full of other awesome goodies for your body.

I love to use all of these foods to boost my energy and endurance so that I can get through my long runs and workouts! Please experiment for yourself and see what helps you! Enjoy!

About simplyrawgirl

I am a certified Level 3 Raw Chef from Creative Health Institute who love food and life. I run and swim whenever I can and love to share my experiances with the world. My mom is the founder of Living Food Banquet and is a Master Chef!
This entry was posted in About Me, Health News, Raw Food Superfoods and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I want to hear from you, so please don't be shy! Please leave a comment.

