Learning to Love Life

I can’t believe it has been three weeks since my last post! When you are busy, time flies by so fast! I’m sorry I haven’t posted lately; I’ll work harder on posting more often.

Lately, I have been watching documentaries on the Invisible Children of Uganda (War Dance) and orphaned, illiterate, and poverty-stricken children of Colombia (Small Voices). While I was watching these movies, I was ebruptly confronted with such harsh and horrific realities that kids, my age or younger, face every day. I then realize the priviledged life I have taken for granted every day of my life. I never imagined that clean air and water, a roof over my head, clean clothes, a good education, and health was such a huge priviledge. That I have happy, loving parents that give me every opportunity to enjoy life and have fun.

There are kids, younger than me, that work 12 hours a day picking up trash for $.75 a day; sell their bodies for a chance to learn to read and write; beg for food and water; have been forced to kill others by rebel soldiers; have lost everything except the clothes on their backs.

I am 16 years old and the most serious thing I have to worry about is getting good grades in school. I have clean water everyday, fresh food at every meal, and a wonderful house that shelters me from wind, heat, and bugs.

Today I woke up and gave thanks for the wonderful life I have. I was thinking of ways to help these kids, when I found these websites where you can help support organizations that help kids without many opportunites.

Here are the websites:

http://www.invisiblechildren.com/

http://www.colombiachildcare.org/the_children.aspx

Have a nice day and enjoy every moment of it!

About simplyrawgirl

I am a certified Level 3 Raw Chef from Creative Health Institute who love food and life. I run and swim whenever I can and love to share my experiances with the world. My mom is the founder of Living Food Banquet and is a Master Chef!
This entry was posted in About Me, What You Can Do and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I want to hear from you, so please don't be shy! Please leave a comment.

